TeachDFW Logo
DallasFt. Worth
A DFW high school teacher helps a student with a math problem

Choose your Texas certification area

Decide what you want to teach, and choose the teaching certificate that’s right for you. Read this page or download our free guide.

Download the Certification Guide

Before you can enroll in a teaching program, you’ll need to decide which teaching certificate you want to earn. Your teaching certificate lets you teach a specific set of grades and subjects.

On this page, we’ll go over your certification area options. 

In some cases, you may have multiple certification options to choose from. For example, if you are looking to teach older elementary or middle school students, you could get certified to teach either PreK–6th grade or 4th–8th grade.

I’m not sure what subject I want to teach

If you already know what grade and subject you want to teach: Fabulous! You can jump to the next section. If you’re not sure, consider a Texas shortage area or a subject that lets you teach all grades.

You can earn certifications in different subjects throughout your teaching career in Texas. You don’t have to get all your certifications at once. (2)

Learn more about Texas teacher certification areas

Once you know the subject and grades you want to teach, you can choose your certification area. Click the tabs for a full list of teaching certificate options. (3) “EC” means “Early Childhood” in these charts.

Talk to a Coach

A future Texas teacher talks to a TeachDFW career coach on the phone

Not sure which certification area is right for you? A TeachDFW coach can help you narrow down your options and choose the right fit. Sign up for your free advising session today!